Slow and steady…

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.” – Ernest Hemingway

Of course I realise Hemingway was talking about travel, but I’m hoping to try to apply this philosophy to my life, in particular to my relationship with food and fitness.

Growing up, eating lots (and well) but having a fast metabolism/good genes/being a lucky cow I never really gave all that much thought into what I put into my body. Obviously, whilst at university I noticed I would put on weight if I consumed large amounts of take away and sweets, but I never actually paid all that much attention to what I was eating. It was never a problem during my childhood when I was an active child, participating in any I could persuade my parents to sign me up for. It also didn’t really bother me during my moderately active days as a university student.

Fast forward to the end of 2014 and after a year of a mystery sore throat, I find myself diagnosed with laryngopharyngeal reflux (silent acid reflux). All of a sudden, I found myself searching for a miracle cure for this horrid condition whilst taking various medications that only made me sicker. As most people suffering with acid reflux do, I turned to the internet for advice, and now it’s my turn for me to share my own journey. When you are a healthy weight, you often don’t consider the effect your diet has on your health, but I decided recently that I would start treating my body the way it should be treated. After a few years of trying, I’ve managed to get a place at drama school to study musical theatre, starting this year and I’m hoping that by changing my lifestyle now, I’ll be that much healthier and stronger come September.

I’m hoping that by recording my journey on here, I’ll feel more motivated to carry on with it. Who knows? It might even help someone else out there!

All the best!

One thought on “Slow and steady…

  1. Pingback: Run and Spoon turns 1! – run and spoon

Leave a Reply

