Post-run recovery drink!

I recently got the Nutribullet for my birthday (best present ever- thank you so much mum and dad!) and have been blending my fruits and veggies like there’s no tomorrow! I’ve been getting more adventurous with the combos on my rest days, but on the days I run, I stick to this recipe for a recovery drink. I have to be very careful, because of my acid reflux, with what I eat and drink but thankfully this nutriblast seems to work wonders. It revitalises me, and seems to be helping reduce the aching that I often used to feel after a hard workout. So without further ado, I will present:

RUNANDSPOON’S POST RUN NUTRIBLAST!

You will need the following:

  • Rice milk/almond milk/water
  • Peanut butter
  • Berries (I prefer frozen as they make the drink cooler and are cheaper!)
  • 1 banana
  • Spinach

Flax seed (optional, but I’m a big fan!)1. First wash your spinach and fill up the blender about half way

 2. Peel your banana and add it to the mix

 3. Put about 1/2 cup of berries in


4.Add a tablespoon of flaxseed

 5.Add 1-2 tablespoons of peanut butter

 6.Top up the mixture with a liquid of your choice; I prefer rice milk but water and almond milk are both great too! Be careful not to go above the maximum line on your device!

 7. Blend until smooth

 8.Enjoy!

It doesn’t look like the most appetising of drinks, but I assure you it tastes fantastic! After a hard run, it’s a much appreciated reward! If you really can’t stomach the taste of peanut butter, I’m sure you could easily switch it out for another high protein spread. I personally can’t stand bananas (on their own), but I can’t say that the flavour bothers me at all in this concotion, so it’s the perfect drink for me!

Please let me know in the comments if you decide to try this smoothie!

All the best!

Runandspoon

x

One thought on “Post-run recovery drink!

  1. Pingback: Running on a budget | run and spoon

Leave a Reply

