The frustration of injury

I had another post planned for today but life doesn’t always work out how you planned it to. On Sunday I was out enjoying a long run when I felt a sudden jolt of pain in my left knee. the pain disappeared as quickly as it came on, so I carried on with the rest of my run cautiously.

I got back home, had some dinner and then started to feel pain in my knee. I followed usual protocol and iced and rested it, all the while stressing about when I could run next. For the past 2 months I’ve been following one of runkeeper’s 10k training plans in the hope of getting a new PB in a race I have booked in October. Initially, all I could think about was how I couldn’t possibly miss a training run, and how all my hard work previously had been for nothing.

it was all going so well!

This isn’t a healthy way to think and it’s not going to help my recovery, so instead of stressing over my injury like I have done in the past, I’m endeavouring to be more positive about the whole situation. Here are my tips for how to cope with being injured:

  • Look after yourself. Listen to your body and rest for as long as it needs you to. You’ve only got one body, so you’d better look after it well!
  • Adjust your expectations. Given the current state of my knee, I’m unlikely to hit the sub-55 target I was aiming for, and that’s okay. There will be other races, and I’ll get there eventually, now just probably isn’t the right time for me
  • Try not to stress about not being able to train as hard as usual. I don’t know if stressing impeeds the bodies heeling process but it certainly doesn’t help to work yourself up about being injured
  • Keep moving (if possible). Do what your joints will tolerate be that cross training, cycling, walking or swimming.
  • Keep busy, it’ll help with keeping your sanity! Now that I’m not running as much (well at  all at the moment) I’m taking the opportunity to catch up on my reading and baking
  • Go see a health professional if you’re concerned. Whilst I’m sure the pain I’m experiencing is runners’ knee, there’s also the possibility of it being osteochondritis dissecans (which I have in my other knee). To be on the safe side, I’m going to get it checked out by a doctor. As the old saying goes, better to be safe than sorry.

Ultimately, you need to stay positive and remember that races will come and go all the time, but you only have one body. Look after it wisely! x

One thought on “The frustration of injury

  1. Pingback: Run and Spoon turns 1! – run and spoon

Leave a Reply

