Acupuncture review- Dr Michael Curtin

Recently I was lucky enough to be contacted by the lovely people at Dr Michael Curtin’s acupuncture clinic in Harley Street, and offered a treatment session to review on here. Prior to this, I had no experience of acupuncture and knew very little about it, other than it involved being poked with needles, so I was intrigued to see how it would all work! For those of you who are similarly unfamiliar with it, I will explain it as simply as possible. It is a key form of Chinese traditional medicine and has been used in Asia for thousands of years, and in the West for several centuries. Treatment involves small needles being carefully inserted into certain points of the body, and can be performed to treat injuries, certain medical conditions (e.g. infertility and migraines) or simply for relaxation purposes. The idea is that the needles will stimulate the nerves under the skin, resulting in the release of endorphins, which relieve pain. Dr Michael Curtin is a medical doctor as well as a qualified acupuncturist, and described his approach to acupuncture as being a mixture of both the Eastern and Western philosophies. He does not see acupuncture as an alternative to orthodox medicine, but rather something that can work beneficially alongside it.

Whilst my knee had been bothering my slightly just prior to my appointment, it had seemingly settled down by the time I was having my treatment so we decided that it would be most beneficial for me to try the acupuncture for the purposes of relaxation. I was given a lengthy consultation in which the procedure was thoroughly explained to me and an extremely detailed medical history was taken. Prior to having this done, I couldn’t really process how having needles stuck in you could be relaxing for anyone, but I went into the experience with an open mind and was pleasantly surprised! Because of my allergies I have a fair amount of experience with needles and I can’t say that I am particularly fond of them, but then again who is? To any of you out there who are contemplating having acupuncture but are currently put off by the thought of needles hurting you, I would urge you to give it a go! The needles used in acupuncture are extremely fine and are far smaller that any that would be used for procedures such as blood tests. You feel a small sharp sensation as the needle enters the skin and after a short while you are unable to feel it. It’s a slightly weird sensation, being able to look at your body with several needles sticking out  (if you’re so inclined) but be unable to actually feel them!

Much to my surprise, I found the whole procedure extremely relaxing, and nearly fell asleep during it as I was so calm and chilled out! My only real complaint is that it felt like it was over too fast, but I always feel like that when doing something relaxing, be it getting a massage or simply sleeping. I left the clinic feeling as though all my tension had left my body and feeling slightly euphoric! The staff at the clinic seemed very friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere was warm and welcoming. The sessions do come with a fairly hefty price tag (for a student like me anyway!), ranging between £65- £95 dependant on the conditions being treated. Having done some research about the cost of acupuncture  in London, I would say that this is a pretty standard price and given my great experience, reflects value for money. Once I have a new job and some more disposable income, I would definitely consider returning for further treatments.

For anyone wanting to know more about either the clinic or acupuncture in general, I have included some links at the bottom of the post. I hope you’ve found this post interesting and perhaps even a little helpful!  I would be fascinated to hear about other peoples’ experiences with acupuncture so please feel free to comment here or tweet and let me know if it worked for you!

x

http://www.drmichaelcurtin.com/index.html

http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/Acupuncture/Pages/Introduction.aspx

N.B. This is not a sponsored post, I have not been paid to create this content.

3 thoughts on “Acupuncture review- Dr Michael Curtin

  1. I also tried acupuncture for runners knee alongside physio exercises. I was getting pain after every run for about 4 months but after just one session the pain went and I’ve not had any problems since. Would definitely recommend acupuncture to anyone, not just for pain but for anything. The concerns treatable with acupuncture are limitless.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Run and Spoon turns 1! – run and spoon

Leave a Reply

