The Autumn roundup

Whilst I enjoy reading other bloggers weekly/monthly summaries, I feel that me providing the exact same style of posts here isn’t beneficial to me or you, given that my weeks are currently so structurally similar. I definitely like the idea of surmising what has developed over a longer period of time (like a season), and it’ll provide a nice alternative to the many elimination diet posts I’m currently writing!

So, what’s new in the land of runandspoon this Autumn?

  • I’ve not eaten out in over a month, because of my elimination diet restrictions. As a result, I have cooked practically every meal (not all, as the boyfriend will probably point out…) from scratch. This doesn’t sound like that big a deal, but up until a few months ago I really disliked cooking. Yes, I could do it, but I would often avoid it if someone else preferred to cook (see boyfriend mentioned above!). The restrictions imposed on me have forced me to become incredibly creative- I even managed to bake a dairy,wheat,egg,sugar and nut free cake- something that I didn’t think was possible! This diet has given me a chance to think about food analytically, and I’m almost enjoying cooking my meals…but I’m certainly enjoying eating them!
  • I started taking aerial silk classes! This is something I wanted to do for a while, but didn’t get round to doing until October. I went to my first class, and was instantly hooked. I think it’s a beautiful art form, and I can’t wait to get stronger and better at it! I find the climbing and strength exercises the most challenging part at the moment, but I know that will improve as I build up my upper body strength.
  • I started running again! Those of you who followed me over the summer will know that I hurt my knee at the start of August whilst training for a 10k and went from running four times a week to doing pretty much nothing bar the occasional swim. I’m pleased to announce that my knee feels stronger than it did and I’m back to running again, with the help of some orthotics. I overpronate quite badly and have very low arches so it’s likely that I injured myself due to inadequate support from my shoes, but I hope that my orthotics will minimise the chances of this happening again.
  • I signed up for a half marathon! Injuries permitting, on the 13th of March next year I will be running the Vitality Bath Half Marathon along with my dad and younger sister. I’ve never done a half before so I’m currently equal parts excited and terrified about the prospect of running 13.1 miles continuously! I’m going to document my preparation and lessons I learn along the way here, so hopefully they’ll be helpful to others.
  • I started using runkeeper again regularly to train and started running at silly-o-clock during the week. Currently, I’m trying to run four times a week with two of the runs at the weekend. This of course leaves two runs to be done mid week, and juggled around my dance heavy schedule at drama school. As a result, I’m waking up between 5:30 and 5:45 on Tuesdays and Thursdays to fit my midweek runs in before I have to head to school. If you’d told me a few months ago that I’d be waking up at these times to run before drama school I’d have laughed, but surprisingly, not only have I actually be getting out and doing these runs but I’ve also been enjoying them! There’s something so enjoyable about running through the (almost) empty streets of London pre sunrise, watching it start to get light as you near the end of your run. It’s cheesy, but it’s made me so glad to be able to live here!

Until next time!

x

 

One thought on “The Autumn roundup

Leave a Reply

