Vegan Pizza!

Here is my very first new meal of the year! I’d made pizza a few times in the past, but I’d always coated it in mounds of mozzarella and cheddar so I thought it would be an interesting challenge to see if I could manage without regular cheese! I am not a vegan , but I wouldn’t rule out the possibility of becoming one at some point. Currently I’m trying to be more aware of what I’m eating and  am trying to make small changes to my diet where I’m able to.

I started by making the dough using a Jamie Oliver recipe (I went for the semolina free version, using 1kg of strong white bread flour instead) if you wanted to make the base gluten or wheat free you could follow another recipe here instead.

I used a simple passata base* made from tomato puree, hot water and some salt and pepper for seasoning. For the “cheese” I made a sauce from carrots, potatoes, onion and cashews blended together which was actually taken from the buzzfeed easy vegan mac n cheese recipe. Obviously you don’t need the same quantity for mac n cheese as you would for a pizza so I made vegan mac n cheese the day before and then saved some leftover sauce to top my pizzas with. It’s a really flavoursome cheese substitute and I definitely plan on making it again.

I then topped my pizza with some cherry tomatoes and spinach and drizzled some home-made satay sauce (a teaspoon of peanut butter mixed with a splash of soy sauce and a tea spoon of water)

Once my pizza was ready I put it in a preheated oven, at 180 °C for 10 minutes- I don’t like my pizzas crisp so cook for longer if you want this!

Here was the delicious final product:

Preparation time: 1 hour to prove, 10 minutes to make and top, 10 minutes to oven bake

Difficulty to make: 4/10

Would I make it again: YES

All in all, I think it went pretty well! First new meal of the year down, and I really enjoyed it!

 

x

*I’m sure my boyfriend will be at pains to remind me that he actually made this sauce, not me, so all credit for that goes to him!

One thought on “Vegan Pizza!

Leave a Reply

