Vegan chilli

After three weeks of deliciously ella recipies and two weeks of sweet treats, I felt it was time for a change! I fancied chilli for dinner, and as I had made beef chilli a few times in the past, I thought I would try and create my own vegan version. Here it is:

Ingredients

  • 400g (1 can) chopped tomatoes
  • 1 medium sized sweet potato
  • 400g (1 can) kidney beans
  • 400g (1 can) butter beans
  • tomato puree
  • 100g fresh spinach (optional)
  • 1 onion
  • 4 garlic gloves
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 2 tbsp chilli powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method

  • Heat some olive oil up in a large pan
  • Chop up the sweet potato and par boil for 5 minutes
  • Chop the onion up and add it to the pan, cooking it over a medium heat
  • Chop up the garlic and after 4 minutes, add it to the pan along with the cumin and chilli powder, making sure to stir well
  • Once the ingredients in the pan are well combined, add the tinned tomatoes, sweet potato, kidney beans and butter beans.
  • Add tomato puree to thicken the chilli to the thickness you want
  • Bring the chilli to the boil then let it simmer, stirring occasionally.
  • Once the potatoes and beans are soft, add the spinach and cook for a further 3 minutes.
  • Season to taste and then serve

I ate my chilli with some leftover brown rice, but it could work equally well with pasta, potatoes or by itself.

This was the first time I’d attempted a recipe like this, and it came out pretty well. I couldn’t really follow a particular recipe on line as I was heavily restricted by what happened to be in my kitchen; I had no black beans which are the usual staple ingredient of chilli. However, despite my limitations, I was really pleased with how it turned out and I really enjoyed the taste. Definitely one to repeat and perfect!


Preparation time: 5 minutes prep, 40 minutes cooking

Difficulty to make: 3/10

Would I make it again: YES

x

Leave a Reply

