The February roundup

I know this is a fair bit later than it ought to have been and that my posts have been somewhat sparse recently, and for that I feel I owe you all an apology. For many reasons, it’s been a difficult month for me.

As you’ll know from last month’s post I’ve been injured and unable to run. For me, running isn’t just a form of exercise, it’s a way to de-stress and feel free, so when I can’t I feel a lot more agitated and a lot less calm. I’ve been trying to combat this by doing various forms of low impact cross training, but obviously it’s still frustrating to be unable to run properly. Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been tentatively trying to run short distances with varying degrees of success, but the enjoyment just hasn’t been there. Mainly because the bath half marathon (which I was supposed to be running next weekend) was always at the back of my mind, and whilst I ought to have been pleased about being able to crack out a 3 mile run after a running hiatus of 2 months, I kept thinking about how it wasn’t enough to help me prepare for the Bath Half. Obviously I have now admitted defeat, and accepted that I wouldn’t be running the Bath Half, but I’ve also decided to try to find my original love of running again, without the stress of training for a particular race.

The low point of February was having to have my beloved cat, Muffin, put to sleep. I never really talked about my family background or my home life here before, but I am a massive animal person and particularly love cats. She was certainly no kitten, but at 12 years old she was hardly ancient so understandably it was quite a shock to me when she suddenly became extremely unwell with no hope of recovery. Now that a few weeks have passed, the feeling of loss is noticeably less painful, but I have no doubt that I will carry it for a long time yet. If you are experiencing similar emotions, I would encourage you to talk to someone about how you are feeling. For me, it was a great help to talk about everything that had happened with my friends, many of whom had been through similar experiences.

Apologies again for the lack of posts as well as the sombre nature of this post. Hopefully after reading this, you can appreciate why I didn’t feel any particular desire to write my usual posts. Fingers crossed, normal service will resume shortly.

Until next time

x

 

3 thoughts on “The February roundup

  1. Pingback: The March Roundup – run and spoon

Leave a Reply

