Sweaty Betty workout class review

Since I can’t run at the moment, I thought I’d investigate some other activities I could take part in as I’ve missed being active. A few people had mentioned to me that I ought to consider trying yoga or pilates to help with strengthening my body both for running and drama school, but not having done either I didn’t really know where to begin. Of course, I turned to the internet and began searching to see what I could find when I came across Sweaty Betty.

For those who are unfamiliar with the brand, Sweaty Betty is a british activewear retailer whose core belief is “to inspire women to find empowerment through fitness”. I was familiar with the brand and their fabulous activewear, but prior to my search I was completely unaware that they ran a variety of classes and that they were free of charge! To attend a class you have to sign up online, which is no mean feat as places are limited and classes fill up quickly. I’m not entirely sure what time the classes are released online, but I would advise checking the website a few times a day to try and see if new classes are available to book yet. So far, I have been lucky enough to attend a “Yin Yoga” class and and “Legs, Bums & Tums” class.

The two classes were very different from each other but were both brilliant. The Yin Yoga class focussed far more on breathing, relaxation and just being aware of the body and was a great release after a hard day of rehearsals. The Legs, Bums & Tums class was, in one word, intense! Initially I felt as though I would be able to get through the class fairly easily as the initial exercises were very similar to ones I do every day at drama school, but boy was I wrong! The difficulty was quickly ramped up, the burn began and the sweat flowed! I love that these classes catered to all ability levels and it was so great to see women at the classes of different ages, shapes and sizes. The two instructors couldn’t have been more encouraging and always made you feel good about yourself, even if you had to adapt a move to complete it.

If any of you are interested in attending a Sweaty Betty class in the future, I would highly recommend it! All you have to do is register online then go onto the classes section of the Sweaty Betty website and sign up for any classes with space. I’ve really enjoyed both the classes I went to, and I’ll definitely be going back for more in the future!

Until next time!

x

Leave a Reply

