Vegan blueberry and banana pancake recipe

It’s not escaped me that most of my popular posts on Instagram   have been pictures of pancakes, and after the popularity of this recent pancake post I thought it was about time I shared my pancake recipe!

My recipe is one adapted from a site called almondsandavocados.com which unfortunately is unavailable at the moment. Originally I used to follow their recipe and measurements exactly, but as time has gone on I have experimented with various quantities and  different types of flour as opposed to just using oat flour. Here is my list of ingredients:

1 large banana/ 2 small bananas

Dairy free milk

Flour (can substitute for oat flour or other gf flour)

Baking powder

Cinnamon

Coconut oil

Maple syrup

Blueberries

Optional vanilla essence and flaxseed

(makes around 6 medium sized pancakes)
I’ve listed approximate quantities since I tend to make my mixture by eye, depending on the quantity of banana I have available.

1) blend the banana with around 1 cup of dairy free milk, 1/2 tbs of coconut oil,1/2 tbs of maple syrup (and a tbs of flax seed if desired)

2) put this mixture to a bowl, adding 1 tsp baking powder (and 1 tbs cinnamon if desired). Then add flour and stir into the mixture until the pancake batter has reached its desired consistency. If you make it too thick, just add some more dairy free milk. At this point, I then add in a handful of blueberries, or whatever fruit I have available.


3)Heat up some coconut oil in a frying pan and when it is hot, add your batter to the pan and cook the pancakes on a low heat to ensure they cook through without burning

4)Leave each pancake for about 3 minutes on each side, resisting the temptation to flip them early- they will collapse!


5)When they’re cooked, stack them and serve them with toppings of your choice!


Voila! Let me know if you decide to make your own and how you get on!

Until next time x

 

Leave a Reply

