Falling off the wagon (and climbing back on again)

If you’ve been paying attention to my recents blogs you’ll see that they’ve been somewhat sparse recently. This has been down to a combination of a massively increased workload from drama school as well as the recent stress of moving house. A lot of my stuff is still in boxes, including most of my cooking books and equipment, so finding the time, energy and ability to keep making inventive new meals is proving difficult.

Additionally I’ve been ill for the past few weeks and as soon as I felt like I was starting to recover, I would increase my workload again. Naturally all that happened was that I wouldn’t recover fully, and then I’d stress about how far behind I was getting, which made me less inclined to rest! Unfortunately this was a vicious cycle, and I knew that if I wanted to get better something had to give. When I missed my first (self appointed) deadline for my food challenge I felt really disappointed; both for my readers and for what I perceived as my own failure to stick to something I’d challenged myself. However, I’ve recently been trying to change the way I feel about this.

My reasoning for starting the food challenge was never to feel like I was holding myself to ransom and having to aimlessly make meals- it was to encourage myself to grow as a cook and enjoy new foodie experiences. I want to find that enjoyment again and not feel like it’s forced in any way. I’ve had a reading week off from drama school this week, and it’s been marvellous; I’ve been able to use the time to catch up on some much needed R&R, running, household chores, work and of course cooking! I’ve rediscovered my love of food and trying new things and have come up with some wonderful things that I can’t wait to share with you!

I’m only human, and I hope that this post has done something to show this. Thank you all for reading this and for staying with me through this journey!

Until next time!

x

Leave a Reply

